The Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops, a permanent institution, is the assembly of the Catholic Bishops in Kenya united and exercising together their Pastoral offices over Christ’s faithful, as shepherds of the Catholic Church in Kenya which they together promote by forms and means of Apostolate suitable to the circumstances of place and time, in accordance with the Law, to promote the greater good which the Church offers to all Mankind (CIC 447).

The Authority of the Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops is vested in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Plenary Assembly.  Currently there are 26 Catholic jurisdictions spread over 4 metropolitan provinces among them,  4 Archdioceses, 20 Dioceses, 1 Apostolic Vicariate and 1 Military Ordinariate.

The Plenary Assembly

The Plenary Assembly ordinarily held twice a year, is the forum in which all of the Ordinaries/ Bishops of the aforementioned jurisdictions come together to deliberate on matters pertaining to the Pastoral concerns across the Country.

To fulfil this mission, the Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops established and mandated the KCCB – General Secretariat, through its Commissions, to coordinate and implement all those activities which express the Mission of the Catholic Church in Kenya at the National level.

It is managed under the direction of the General Secretary who is the Executive Officer of the Conference.

Want to Subscribe to National Mirror Magazine??